Get a groove on with Funky Poetz, the Eggshell Egoz debut album produced by Ronan Chris Murphy (King Crimson, Tony Levin). The Egoz blend funk, rock and pop emulsifying these genres to create their own unique sound.

The first single ‘Takin My Time’, has received radio airplay around the country and has had almost 2000 hits on their Myspace page ). The video can be seen on YouTube.

Eggshell Egoz is the brainchild of frontman Dave Whitton and guitarist Dave Walker. After forming in 2001, they added their current funkafide rhythm section starring bassist Dale Vix and drummer Jay Setar. To round out the Egoz, they got metal-based rhythm guitarist Rodney Amieva who brought a whole new dimension to the group.

The rock-funk sounds of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Phish and Psychophunkapus are echoed on songs like: “Funky Poetz”, “Slippery Slime”, “Environmentalists” and “Fungus”. While other tracks on the album are reminiscent of Hootie and the Blowfish and the Spin Doctors – not a bad combination. The real surprise on the album is “Manic Peaches”, not really in line with the other songs on the CD; this acoustic love ballad is laden with endearing lyrics and really highlights Dave Whitton’s vocal talent. You just can’t help wanting to break out a lighter and start swaying back and forth to it.

Billed with acts such as Liz Phair, The Spin Doctors, and Quincy Jones, the Egoz have played hundreds of amazing venues, festivals, and charities including The Key Club, Whisky A Go-Go, NARM and Tide Fest. Their latest show is Saturday, July 21st at Taco Beach in Long Beach, California.

Funky Poetz is a fun-filled; cruise to the beach type of debut. I say slather on some lotion, put the top down and crack open the new Eggshell Egoz CD.

Be Sociable, Share!