Most of the official Seven Wonders of the World have disappeared. Most people probably couldn’t even name them. Because of this, Bernard Weber, a Swiss-Canadian filmmaker and aviator decided that a new seven wonders list should be established for existing pieces of architecture. He created the site to allow people to begin to vote on which pieces of architecture around the world are worthy of these top seven positions. Since then, 70 million votes have been cast narrowing the choices down to 21. This weekend, the winning list will be revealed on Saturday, July 7. So far, a shoo-in is the Taj Mahal because of a national campaign in India. The ranking of the top seven will be kept a secret. The contenders include:

Acropolis – Athens, Greece

Alhambra- Granada, Spain

Angkor -Cambodia

Chichen Itza -Yucatan, Mexico

Christ Redeemer – Rio de Janiero

Colossuem – Rome

Easter Island Statues -Chile

Eiffel Tower -Paris

 Great Wall – China

Hagia Sophia- Istanbul

Kiyomizu Temple -Kyoto, Japan

Kremlin/St. Basil-Moscow

Machu Picchu -Peru

Neuschwanstein Castle- Germany

Petra – Jordan

Pyramids of Giza – Egypt

Statue of Liberty -New York

Stonehenge -England

Sydney Opera House -Australia

Taj Mahal -Agra, India

Timbuktu -Mali

The original Seven Wonders of the world were chosen by Antipater of Sidon who based his list on travelers such as Herodotus and Callimachus. They included:

The Great Pyramid of Giza – Cairo, Egypt

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon – east bank of the River Euphrates, Baghdad, Iraq

The Statue of Zeus at Olympia- 150 km west of Athens, Olympia, Greece

The temple of Artemis at Ephesus- ancient Ephesus, Izmar, Turkey

The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus- ancient Halicarnassus, Bodrum, Turkey

The Colossus of Rhodes -Rhodes, Greece

The Lighthouse of Alexandria – ancient Pharos, Alexandria, Egypt

For related articles visit  and .

Be Sociable, Share!