On November 8 New Zealanders headed to the polls to determine who would lead the next Government. On the night supplementary counts gave National 59 seats and the Greens had eight seats. Now, with the release of the special votes, those two numbers have changed with National losing one seat to the Green party (58-9 respectively).

The new amount of seats does not affect which party holds power in the minority Government with National’s agreements with Act (5 seats), UnitedFuture (1) and the Maori Party (5) remaining dominant in the 122 seat Parliament (an overhang of two because the Maori Party won more electorate seats than was reflected in their party vote support).

Chief Electoral Officer Robert Peden released the confirmed figures this afternoon which means Cam Calder is no longer an MP for National, and Kennedy Graham is the newest confirmed face to the Green’s caucus.

The Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand are not surprised that they grew their seat total, as they have always been favoured in the special votes. In fact, they had already been including Mr Graham in caucus discussions prior to the announcement of inclusion.

There were 270,965 special votes cast and despite that total no other parties lost or gained seats; thus all candidates are confirmed to have won their electorates. The special votes were important in the electorates where a thin majority held power, such as Waimakariri where Clayton Cosgrove only held it by 518 votes. That lead has now shrunk to a mere 390 votes.

New Zealand First still didn’t reach the 5% threshold required for a party to gain representation in Parliament (unless an electorate is won) – only acquiring 7,000 more votes.

For the near 280,000 special votes, only 32,000 of them were from overseas New Zealanders, the remainder were from voters voting two weeks ago outside their designated electorates.

Main opposition party, Labour, still remains with 43 seats.

Written by Gabriel Pollard at Bird’s Eye News.

Be Sociable, Share!