Midsomer Murders: Village Case Files is now available on DVD for your enjoyment at home. This collection follows Barnaby’s Casebook and it features the next 16 stand alone mysteries. This 16 disc collection, Village Case Files includes the episodes from Series 8 and 9 which were broadcast between 2004-2006. It is rumored, although Buckingham Palace are not commenting, that the Queen enjoys this program!

Tom Nettles has the star role of DCI Tom Barnaby. He plays a dogged investigator and devoted family man, unflappable in the face of the macabre crimes and eccentric characters he has to deal with in his work. John Hopkins stars as his sidekick, Sgt. Dan Scott and Jason Hughes later takes on the role of DS Ben Jones.

Together these men investigate crimes that involve grisly town murders, supposed suicides, shot-gun slayings and the deaths and rumors of deceit. We have strange cases such as sordid activities by a community queen, a valuable orchid and an erotic diary, a local regatta, a famed racing horse, a town with psychic powers, a man that is killed with flying wine bottles, a naked body in a relish factory and in one case we find Barnaby second guessing himself about his own detective work in the past. To be able to do his job correctly, Barnaby must ask questions in order to get the answers he needs no matter how inappropriate they are.

The list of guest stars includes Jane Wymark, Laura Howard, Diana Quick, George Baker, Simon Callow, Annette Crosbie, Elizabeth Spriggs, Harriet Walter, Peter Capaldi and Julie McKenzie.

The mysteries on Volume one are:

  • Things That Go Bump in the Night
  • Dead in the Water
  • Orchis Fatalis
  • Bantling BoyMidsomer Murders: The Village Case Files

Volume two includes:

  • Second Sight
  • Hidden Depths
  • Sauce for the Goose
  • Midsomer Rhapsody

Volume three:

  • The House in the Woods
  • Dead Letters
  • Vixen’s Run
  • Down Among the Dead Men

Volume four:

  • Four Funerals and a Wedding
  • Country Matters
  • Death in Chorus
  • Last Year’s Model

Bonus Features include Caroline Graham biography and cast filmographics, text interviews with John Nettles and Jason Hughes, fascinating facts, The Killings of Badger’s Drift connection and production notes.

Originally Midsomer Murders: Village Case Files aired in March 1997 in the United Kingdom. Surprisingly since it’s first airing more than sixty-five feature-length episodes have aired while new episodes are still in production now. The series has aired on A&E and The Biography channel here in the United Stated.

The approximate run time for this entire set is 26 ½ hours, so there is lots of entertainment involved. To get your copy of Midsomer Murders: Village Case Files just click on the Amazon link above. Then grab some popcorn and drink and sit back and enjoy in the comfort of your own home.

Jan Barrett

Be Sociable, Share!