Based on the timeless novel by Evelyn Waugh, Brideshead Revisited took a staggering two years to make and is the equivalent of seven feature films back to back. Waugh tells the story of romantic yearning and loss set in the world of British aristocracy. The story is told in flashbacks as Jeremy Irons, an officer in the British Army, is stationed with his company at a remote country home that turns out to be Brideshead, a place where he called home for many years when he was growing up. The stationing triggers a multitude of memories of his youth and young manhood, his loves, life and his journey of faith and anguish.

This DVD set, Brideshead Revisited: 30th Anniversary Edition is a 4 disc set with 11 episodes:

Disc 1
1. Et in Arcadia Ego
2. Home and Abroad

Disc 2
3. The Bleak Light of Day
4. Sebastian Against the World
5. A Blow Upon a Bruise
6. Julia

Disc 3
7. The Unseen Hook
8. Brideshead Deserted
9. Orphans of the Storm
10. Twitch Upon the Thread

Disc 4
11. Brideshead Revisited

The extras included with this set are:

*Revisiting Brideshead, a 2006 documentary featuring retrospective interviews with Jeremy Irons, Anthony Andrews, Diana Quick, director Charles Sturridge, and many more
* Four episode commentaries including stars Jeremy Irons, Anthony Andrews, Diana Quick, and others
* Brideshead Remembered photo gallery with commentary by director Michael Lindsay Hogg
*Photo galleries for each episode
*Production notes
*Cast and crew biographies and filmographies
*20-page companion guide and a downloadable online press book

If you would like a copy of this DVD set, Brideshead Revisited: 30th Anniversary Edition all you have to do is click on the Amazon link above and order one.

Jan Barrett

Be Sociable, Share!