It is November and just about everyone knows the silver vein is played out in the mountains at this point. The town of Silver Gulch is barely hanging on in the form of a few ramshackle buildings and some tents. The few stragglers left in town have nowhere else to go and no way to get there so they hang on doing the best they can in desperate times. While the silver is gone the gulch the place was named for is still present as is a man known as Lobo Ames. Deputy U.S. Marshal Cash Laramie intends to find him, take him into custody, and return him to jail where he belongs.manhunter's mountain

To do that, not only will he have to contend with some of the town’s people in a town that has no law enforcement of any kind, he will have to deal with the worsening weather as winter storms are on the way. Manhunter’s Mountain will extract a heavy price before all is said and done in this terrific novel from author Wayne D. Dundee.

Like the other tales in the series, the read features complicated characters, a mystery or two in a western setting, and plenty of action to keep the story moving right along. It is another good one in a great series and well worth your time. Manhunter’s Mountain is billed as book 4 of the Cash Laramie and Gideon Miles series, but can be read first if you are new to the series. If you prefer to read in order start with the short story collection titled, Adventures of Cash Laramie and Gideon Miles.

Manhunter’s Mountain (Cash Laramie and Gideon Miles Series Book Four)
Wayne D. Dundee
Beat To A Pulp
January 4, 2012
E-book (also available in paperback)
132 Pages

This is one of those cases where I am not sure if the publisher sent it to me or I bought it using funds in my Amazon associate account. Either is possible, but I suspect the publisher sent in my way for my use in an objective review.
Kevin R. Tipple ©2015

Be Sociable, Share!