I don’t often get children’s books for review because I am not directly connected to book review sites aimed at children’s books. So, when I joined Blogger News Network recently, I made a point of not responding too many of the calls in favor of responding to review calls for non-fiction books and children’s books. The result so far has been a good one and through them I was able to get my hands on this book.

Abraham Lincoln and the Forest of Little Pigeon Creek

Written by T. D. Carter

Illustrated By Randy Jennings

AmeriTales Entertainment, L. L. C



ISBN# 978-0-9798739-0-4

32 Pages


As a history major in College and a parent, I know history does not have to be drab and boring. One example of a children’s series that works really well is the Magic Tree House series and all of the related spin-offs. There two fictional children via a magic tree house are transported back in time to actual historic events and are able to experience them first hand. In this case, the first book in a planned series, the work is based on a fictional story built around a real historical character.

Set in 1818, Abraham Lincoln is nine and walking through the forest of Little Pigeon Creek with his best friend, Jack, who happens to be a turkey. The young Abraham Lincoln is desperately trying to convince himself that he isn’t afraid despite the fact that the forest smells, has lots of scary noises and bugs, and all the rest of what one would expect in a forest. For Jack, everything is fine and as he chases a bug here and there, he can’t understand why Abraham would be afraid because everything seems to be normal to him.

The only reason Abraham Lincoln is walking deep into the forest is because that is where Old Man Crawford lives in his house. He has a book that Abraham has been itching to read and probably will loan to him for a little while. The journey to his house and back as well as a follow-up journey to return the book provides the adventure and learning moments for the young Abraham Lincoln as well as readers.

The result is a charming children’s book with colorful detailed illustrations and a powerful message regarding reading and the environment. Both are very important, as the book makes clear as it does the secondary theme of overcoming obstacles in life.

While marketed and aimed at four to nine year olds, the text itself may reside above their abilities despite a short glossary of terms used at the back of the book. The illustrations though, know no boundaries, and are sure to delight young and old alike. The overall result is a good children’s book that parents and others can feel comfortable with young children reading and learning from. It starts the series well and one hopes that future planned editions featuring Amelia Earhart, Thomas Edison, Jackie Robinson and Sitting Bull will meet if not exceed this strong standard.

Kevin R. Tipple  © 2008

Be Sociable, Share!